Gluten free vegan banana bread

I got this beautiful bread maker today, sent to me by my cousin. It was truly a soul-full experience.

20130128-203733.jpg
The bread maker is made by Neal Pottery http://nealpottery.com/

From the moment I opened the surprise box and pulled out this handcrafted ceramic art, I felt tears coming to my eyes. I explored it, not knowing just yet who sent it, because the card was not signed. I ran my fingers along the grooves that the artist created, and was reminded of my mom who returned to the light this past summer. She was an amazing painter and loved pottery, she even had her own kiln. I thought of her as and angel, lovingly guiding the artist and a piece of clay, this piece of clay, now a ceramic bread maker, resting at home now in my hands.

The maker came with a bunch of recipes, the banana bread caught my eye, so I changed the ingredients and made it gluten free and vegan.

One less cup of batter would have fit this perfectly, mine baked over the sides. Next time I will make a few cupcakes with the extra. If you have this bread maker you will want to use 3/4 of this recipe.

As I started baking, looking at my beautiful new maker, I was imagining what it was like to bake in pre-non-stick times, pre-industrial revolution, on the top of mount Masada, or in ancient Egypt.

In the end the bread reminded me of my grandmothers honey bread, I loved that bread as a child! I know many of my loved ones who are now angels came into my kitchen, my heart an my food tonight.

2 Tablespoons ground flax
6 Tablespoons water
1 cup all purpose gluten free flour
3/4 cup buckwheat flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
3/4 cup agave nectar
2 Tablespoons coconut oil + 1 Tablespoon for greasing bread maker or bread pan.
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
3 ripe bananas
1/2 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract, or pure maple syrup
1/4 to 1/2 cup chocolate chips &/or raisins or chopped pecans

Preheat oven at 350 F
In a medium size bowl wisk flax and water, set aside.
Wisk flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl, set aside.
Add all remaining ingredients into the medium bowl with the flax, mix well.
Pour the wet into the dry and mix well.
Coat the bread maker (or bread pan) well with the remaining coconut oil.
Pour the batter 3/4 to top of bread maker-pan.
Set bread maker or pan on top of a parchment lined baking sheet.
Cook for 70 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center.
Remove from oven and allow to completely cool.
Gently turn the bread upside down onto a plate, It should come right out, push the edges lightly in if needed to help the bread come out. Turn the bread over.
Slice and serve.

20130128-203850.jpg
over-filled and chocolate chips added to top
20130128-203909.jpg
gluten free vegan banana bread
20130128-203920.jpg
Popped out after cooled.

Notes:
-As you see I kept my chocolate chips out of the batter and instead added it just before baking, and pushed it just below the surface.
-I overfilled it not realize how much it would expand, 3/4 full would have been perfect, but I sure had fun picking it off the sides.
-ceramic seems to cook more evenly in my opinion. There is something really special to it. Makes it more homemade feeling to me.
-can be sliced anyway you like, I sliced it in wedges.
-would make a perfect cake for a 4 people. Drizzle a little melted chocolate on top and I think it would make a great birthday cake.
-sugar in equal amount can replace the agave, a little cinnamon and sugar sprinkled on top just before baking would have been perfect.

Leave a Reply

