Oatmeal chews

Great finger food for babies, toddlers and even older kids, and no oatmeal mess!
20130211-212222.jpg

This delightful surprise came from a failed (in my opinion) batch of pancake batter. I decided to see what would happen if I put the batter in baking cups and bake it. My 1 & 5 year old ate them up! And the great thing, it’s healthy, very few ingredients and my son who is refusing to eat oatmeal was asking or more.

3 cups rolled oats
1 T baking soda
4 T ground flax
1 T cinnamon
1 t vanilla extract (or pure maple syrup)
1 T coconut oil
1 mashed banana
2 cuts water
1 t sea salt

Topping: 2 mashed ripe bananas
2 T agave nectar or sweetener of choice

Put all the ingredients (except topping) in a blender and blend until the oats break down, keep batter somewhat chunky though.

Fill cupcake cups 3/4 way. Bake one 350 F for 45 minutes, or until top gets golden brown.

Remove and transfer to a cooling rack.

Mix topping, and spread on top the chews.

Make sure it’s cooled before serving to little ones (these are pretty hot inside for a while). Also the topping can be put on anytime, it will actually dry out but still be a little sticky, but not runny.

Options: add raisins or other dried fruit.
1/2 cup of purred fruit can replace the banana in the batter (applesauce, pumpkin, sweet potato, mango)

Notes:
The chews without the topping are pretty bland (at least to me), but my 1 year old preferred them that way, my 5 year old only wanted the ones with the topping.
For chocolate lovers, spread some nut butter + chocolate powder (or carob) + liquid sweetener, on top.
Vegan cream cheese mixed with a little maple syrup would be a great “frosting”.

Oh and how about that photo?! Amazing what great pics I can get from my iPhone+Instagram+red Stamp. I’m trying to make all my pics more fun and appealing, hope its working. As soon as I am out of baby-phase (oh teething) and get good sleep, I’m going to be turning the really great pictures into something fun, but that’s a surprise for later, like in a year or two maybe 🙂

One thought on “Oatmeal chews

Leave a Reply

