Garbanzo bean “chocolate” chip cookies, vegan, gluten free

I have been making bean cookies and brownies for years, my family loves them, and this one the have named the best ever!
20151122-083016.jpg

As many of my readers may know, I don’t follow a recipe, I use it as a guide. I also don’t always write down what I put in a recipe because I love to just be in the moment. Yes I love to cook. Funny thing is I’m on a cleanse and can’t eat it, but what I’ve been cooking since I started my cleanse has been amazing, according to my family.

So here are the ingredients. To make it McDougall low fat omit the almond butter, as you see I don’t use much. You can replace it with a non dairy milk, or leave it out all together.

NOTE: the amounts are estimates
Makes about 50 small cookies
4 cups cooked garbanzo beans
2 cups oat flour (you can use oat groats or rolled or quick oats, made into flour in a blender)
1 cup ground flax
1/2 cup chia seeds
2 Tablespoon almond butter
2 Tablespoon applesauce
1 cup dates
1 cup water
1/4 cup cashew
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup carob chips (or chocolate chips)
1 cup raisins (optional)
1/2 cup maple syrup or other liquid sweetner
1 tablespoon salt (to taste – optional – omit for the McDougall Plan)

Preheat oven at 375 F
Blend the dates, cashews, maple syrup, baking soda, salt and water until the dates are liquid.
In a food processor blend the date liquid and garbanzo beans until smooth.
Put into large mixing bowl, add all the remaining ingredients except raisins and carob chips. Mix until all combined well. If the batter is too wet add more flax or oat flour. Should be a little thinner than regular cookie batter. Not runny.

Using a ice cream scooper, or spoon, scoop out small balls, about the size of a golf ball, and put on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. The balls can also be cooked in silicon baking cups. You can make them into cookie shapes too by pressing them down with the back of a spoon.

Bake for approx 30 min, or until it starts to get golden brown. Let cool before serving. They can be served room temperature or cold. They tend to get a little more firm if left in the fridge over night.

Store in air tight container in the fridge.

I can’t say how long they will last, in my house that’s about a day or so.

Some more pics from the Bain family photo shoot, even our sons joined in the fun.

20151122-091955.jpg

20151122-092009.jpg

20151122-092021.jpg

Leave a Reply

