No oil vegan falafel

My love of falafel started at a very young age.  Both my parents are Israeli, so I have very fond memories of enjoying a falafel sandwich.  When I first met my husband he lived in another state, whenever we would see each other I would have a few boxed of falafel mix and a few containers of tahini.  We served falafel at our engagement party.  I remember my Ayurvedic physician tell us that our “junk food” was considered health food to most people.  Ok you get the point, we love falafel.

Now that we eat whole foods, plant based, high carb, low fat, NO OILS, we can no longer make a fun stop at the falafel restaurant. Today I figured out how to make a McDougall Plan compliant falafel that is delicious!  This is certainly only going to be an occasional food, a special treat, as we like to eat very simply, but it’s a treat we can feel good about.

image.jpeg

Falafel

1 cup cooked garbanzo beans, drained
1 Cup baked sweet potatoes
1/2 cup boiled potato
1/4 cup onion, minced
1 cup oat flour (can use whole wheat flour or almost any other flour)
2 tsp cumin seeds
Dash freshly cracked pepper
1/2 cup dried or fresh parsley
2 teaspoon coriander powder

Mash all ingredients (except oat flour) with a fork until beans are broken down. Add the flour 1/2 cup at a time, mix well. Form balls or parties. If it’s too runny and won’t form add more flour.

Place on parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake 350 degrees F for 30 min, flip and bake until golden brown where it’s touching the paper.

Serve hot with toasted whole wheat pita bread, hummus and Israeli salad.

I make regular hummus for my family and no tahini vegetable hummus for myself.

Can be stored in the fridge for a few days or frozen.  Be sure to reheat before serving.

Optional toppings:
Israeli Pickles / pickled veggies
Roasted peppers
Romaine lettuce
Finely chopped tomatoes and cucumbers
Finely shredded cabbage
Shredded carrots

The possibilities are endless.

La Chaim! To Life!

2 thoughts on “No oil vegan falafel

  1. I love this recipe, but is there any way you can give specific measurements of the sweet potato, the boiled potato, and the onion? Either in cups or ounces … Because my definition of 2 medium sweet and 1 large boiled and 1 small onion might not be the American as yours … And I definitely don’t want to mess up this fabulous recipe! Thx so much!

Leave a Reply

